Walter! A True Fish Story By Olivia Parrish

Editor’s note: Sometimes you get reader stories that you just have to post immediately. Such is the case with Olivia Parrish’s tale of catching Walter the Trout. Arriving on our doorstep on the first day of summer — and on a glorious blue-sky day in the Emerald City no less — it’s brought smiles throughout our office today, so we thought we would share the 10-year-old Lynnwood angler’s handwritten tale.

“Time to get up,” my dad whispered quietly as he climbed up the ladder of my bed.

It was an early Saturday morning and we were going to Martha Lake on our little boat, The ORP. Of course I got ready and blah blah blah, but let’s skip to the good part.

So as we got on the water since it was opening day, it was sorta busy but we squeezed in. About 20 minutes in, I was the first one to get a fish in the net. Then my dad got some, then I got some, and on and on, but when I had about 8, I got a humungo tug on my pole.

That was when “Walter” even started pulling line out. I tried to stop the line from being pulled out all the way, but then all of a sudden Walter let go. Well, I thought.

Right then, mine and my dad’s hearts sank, for a few seconds that is. Right as I was reeling in my line to see if my flat fish was still on, I felt that huge tug again. I could not believe it, but it was not really a good time to freak out because I had to reel in Walter.

Before I knew it, there was a big fat trout thumping around in the bottom of the boat. All of a sudden people had amazed looks on their faces, including me and my dad. People everywhere saw what happened and I was the star of the lake.

OLIVIA AND WALTER, A NICE FAT TROUT SHE CAUGHT OUT OF MARTHA LAKE NEAR HER HOME OF LYNNWOOD, WASH., EARLIER THIS YEAR. (WRIGHT & McGILL/EAGLE CLAW PHOTO CONTEST)

So we fished for a bit longer but did not catch any more fish nearly as large. Soon it was time to head in and I knew that right as people saw my fish they would be thinking, “I can’t believe that this young 10-year-old girl would catch this big of a fish.” Right as we pulled the fish out of the cooler I knew that people were thinking what I thought they were because some people were even taking pictures of my fish on their phones.

Once people were done adoring my fish, we put The ORP back in the truck and headed back home. On our way home, the only thing that I could think about was Walter and I knew that I would never forget that very day!

THE END

One Response to “Walter! A True Fish Story By Olivia Parrish”

  1. Erika Says:

    Great fish and storytelling, Olivia. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

