Editor Pouts About Fish Reports

Will you guys be OK if I cry right now?

Would you be cool with that?

It’s your fault, after all — and I’m pointing this keyboard-stubbed finger straight at you, Terry Wiest, Garrett Grubbs, Jeff Main, Nick Pranzetti, Joel Shangle, Troy Rodakowski, Dennis Dodson and Swanny.

Your pics and reports have me wanting to be anywhere but strapped to the March issue, which is at T-minus six working days from blast off.

And I’m light on copy.

And your messages of bad-ass steelhead are NOT helping me focus on editing what I do have, or calling up sources for more stuff, or begging writers to go looooooooong.

So, waaah, waaaah, blubber, blubber, sniff, sniff, boo-hoo.

Wiest, it was your email yesterday that set it all off.

Cowlitz Article

Inbox
Reply

Terry Wiest
to andy

show details Feb 2 (1 day ago)

End of this week OK?

Went to Forks yesterday – got some really nice fish.  I’ll send some pics from home tonight.

17 was the biggest.  13 total and 5 were in the teens.

TW

BIG MEAN JERK #1 WITH A WILD STEELHEAD FROM A FORKS AREA RIVER. (TERRY WIEST, STEELHEADUNIVERSITY.COM)

And then came your message this morning, Grubbs:

Inbox
Reply
Garrett Grubbs
to andy

show details 7:02 PM (17 hours ago)

subject    Hey Andy, just got this awesome steelhead on the Clearwater River today!!! 20 + fish all from 12-18 lbs!!!!!! Day two tomorrow.

BIG MEAN JERK #2 WITH A STEELHEAD. (WRIGHT & MCGILL/EAGLE CLAW PHOTO CONTEST)

And then Main sent me an email:

(no subject)
Inbox
Reply
wintrsteelhead
to andy

show details 10:42 AM (1 hour ago)

Hi Andy,

How are things going over there ?  Getting all jazzed up for another Grande ronde season, Nephew went last sun/mon  hooked 15 landed 7.

Then Pranzetti got back to me with more information on the pic of his awesome late-January buck from the Wilson:

Inbox
Reply
Nick Pranzetti
to andy

show details 12:14 PM (15 minutes ago)

My buddy Mitch and I were side drifting like evryone else even the guides.
So we decides to throw on some plugs and that bad boy chomped it at the top of the hole. I was hoping to see it in an artical or cover page for a lifetime Steelhead like that. let me know if u need me to write an artical of our epic day.

Thanks!
Nick pranzeti

BIG MEAN JERK #3 WITH HIS MONSTER. (WRIGHT & MCGILL/EAGLE CLAW PHOTO CONTEST)

And then I came across Shangle’s Facebook post this morning:

Back on the road from the upper Bogachiel River. Beautiful day, 10-12 fish out of 16-17 hookups, zero other human beings.
17 hours ago via iPhone · Like Unlike ·

Yeah, I’ll like that post — only to then unlike it.

Take that, you big mean jerk.

And then there’s Rodakowski.

Weekend Steel on the Slaw

Inbox
Reply
Troy Rodakowski
to andy
show details Jan 31 (3 days ago)

Hope you are doing well and you had a great weekend!  Here’s a report from the central valley:  It was the last weekend of zone 1 duck season down here and we had plans on hitting some coastal lakes for cans and bluebill.  However, reports were far short from promising on that front.

About 9 am we found a really nice hole in a spot where the river narrows.  After pulling up I decided to try a new rig.  My cousin had been using it earlier in the morning and we had some very good success with it during the summer runs.  On my second cast there it was………a sharp hit from a silver torpedo from beneath the surface.  I set the hook, yelled at my cousin to adjust my drag I strapped in for the 10 minute journey this fish had in store.  Ten minutes later after multiple runs, aerobatic jumps and shakes we landed her a beautiful 33 inch 12 lb hen.  My adrenaline rush was fulfilled!  What a day!

Best Wishes My Friend!,
Troy Rodakowski

BIG MEAN JERK #4 AND HIS 'SLAW STEELIE. (TROY RODAKOWSKI)

And then, trying to clear all these files off this cluttered-as-hell desktop, I came across Dodson’s pic, which (wonder of wonders) I’d misfiled. And it started the weeping all over again.

photo contest entry

Dennis Dodson
to    andy@nwsportsmanmag.com
date    Mon, Jan 31, 2011 at 4:16 PM

January 25th on the Wynoochee. The larger one is 38.5 inches. Didn’t have a scale. They are my second and third steelhead ever. I might as well quit now because in all likelihood I’ll never have a day like that one again.  I also lost one while the boat was beached, that one never stopped and took every bit of line off the spool. I was so surprised that I didn’t think of jumping out of the boat and chasing it down the bank but probably would not have made a difference. We were sidedrifting cured prawns.

I am from Edmonds, WA.  Moved to the Northwest 30 years ago and never fished until 4 years ago and now I’ve got the bug bad. Still trying to figure out the river thing. I also work in downtown Edmonds and spend a good deal of the summer at the pier.  Managed a 26# king this year but that’s a whole different thing than the river.

 

BIG MEAN JERK #5 WITH THE RESULTS OF A HELLA GOOD DAY ON THE 'NOOCH. (WRIGHT & MCGILL/EAGLE CLAW PHOTO CONTEST)

And that reminded me of another big ol’ steelie, which — imagine that! — the guide sent me a photo of knowing I’d be tied down at the Sportsman’s Show!

Big steel

Inbox
Reply
Bill “SWANNY” Swann
to Andy
show details Jan 28 (6 days ago)

Andy

25.9 steelhead caught 2 days ago.

 

BIG MEAN JERK #6 AND HIS FISH. (SWANNY'S GUIDED FISHING)

Blubber, boo.

Sniff.

OK, I think I’m going to be better now.

I think I can get back to work now that this is off my chest.

Wait, no, here comes a fresh round of tears. Just got a springer report:

how soon before ODFW gets off their …

Inbox
Andy Walgamott
to Hymer, Joe A (DFW)

… err, bum, and updates the Tues-Weds commercial sturgeon fishery…
12:12 PM (46 minutes ago)

Reply
Hymer, Joe A (DFW)
to andy
show details 12:56 PM (2 minutes ago)

Buyers get 24 hours from the end of the fishery (last night at 6 pm) to report their landings.  Updated landing information can be found at http://www.dfw.state.or.us/fish/OSCRP/CRM/comm_fishery_updates.asp.

I did hear ODFW sampled at least 5 fish yesterday, 3 uprivers and 2 lower river based upon Visual Stock Identification.

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dennis Dodson <dennis_dodson@hotmail.com>
to andy@nwsportsmanmag.com
date Mon, Jan 31, 2011 at 4:16 PM
subject RE: photo contest entry
mailed-by bounce.secureserver.net
hide details Jan 31 (3 days ago)
January 25th on the Wynoochee. The larger one is 38.5 inches. Didn’t have a scale. They are my second and third steelhead ever. I might as well quit now because in all likelihood I’ll never have a day like that one again.  I also lost one while the boat was beached, that one never stopped and took every bit of line off the spool. I was so surprised that I didn’t think of jumping out of the boat and chasing it down the bank but probably would not have made a difference. We were sidedrifting cured prawns.I am from Edmonds, WA.  Moved to the Northwest 30 years ago and never fished until 4 years ago and now I’ve got the bug bad. Still trying to figure out the river thing. I also work in downtown Edmonds and spend a good deal of the summer at the pier.  Managed a 26# king this year but that’s a whole different thing than the river.
Leave a Reply

