‘The Kayak Guy Checked A Limit’

Northwest Sportsman’s ko-kayak angling kolumnist Mark Veary has been regulating on the Multnomah Channel.

He’s limited on springers the last two times out — Friday and yesterday.

“Herring have been failing me this year so I switched over to a spinner with no bling,” reports the Hillsboro man. “I managed two on Friday and another two on Sunday. Life is good.”

Uhh, yeah, we’d say so.

SUNDAY'S ACTION WASN'T ALL RIDING MONSTER WAKES FROM OFFSHORE BOATS -- THERE WERE CHINOOK TO BE CAUGHT TOO. MARK VEARY, OUR KAYAK COLUMNIST, LIMITED ON THE MULTNOMAH CHANNEL. (MARK VEARY)

But Sunday actually started out pretty slow, Veary reports, with few hook-ups.

“After a pee break and some nourishment we were back on troll against a fairly heavy current. Progress was less than .5 mph and I opted for a 6-ounce weight to ensure I was in the zone.”

“Looking up at the shore I silently remarked to myself that I’d hooked a few fish in this location. And, as if on queue, my rod starts a slow throb. ‘No way…’ Yup! Throb, throb … BENDO! Ka-ching! Chrome lovin’ flopping around in my lap,” he writes.

Afterwards, looking to paddle from one side of the channel to the other, he had an interesting moment as an offshore boat decided to thread the needle between Veary and another small craft 30 feet away.

There was some cursing.

But the angler found redemption when his rod went off the second time.

“I was loving the walk back to my car with a limit on the clip! Every jaw dropped and even the fish checker was beside herself,” Veary writes. “Most boats had scratched up maybe 1 fish for 4 rods today and the kayak guy checked a limit. When I asked what the score for the day was, the gal from DFW smiled and said, “You just doubled it!”

Score one, err, two, for the Tupperware Navy.

Leave a Reply

