NWS Writer Finds Hot Springer Bite

Man, why weren’t we fishing this far below the Interstate when I went out with you earlier this month, Andy Schneider!?!?

Oh, yeah, that’s right, the Willamette was kind of pukey.

The Columbia has since reprised itself for the Northwest Sportsman contributor. He and his crews found pretty good — though very crowded — fishing over the weekend off Vancouver’s west side.

Here’s his story:

Since finding a couple of weeks off this summer proved to be impossible for me this year, I decided to take two weeks off in the peak of Springer Season.  It was tough to wait until my weekend arrived, especially with good reports coming from the Columbia all week, but my vacation arrived and I started out bright and early Friday with a Soldier just out of Basic, his Dad John LeCarno and my good Friend Tom VanderPlaat.  Within the 1st 100 yards of our 1st Pass Tom hooks up with his 2nd Springer of 2010.  Then it’s the Soldier’s turn and Joel lands his 1st Springer of 2010 in a light rain before heading back to a dry and warm Southern California.

CREEPING ALONG CATERPILLAR ISLAND, MISSY SCHNEIDER LANDED THIS SPRINGER. (ANDY SCHNEIDER)

Saturday arrived and I had the pleasure of fishing with my Wife and son and 2 friends for work Mike Fung and Shawn Seals.  After fishing Friday and finding everyone in the Portland Metro area that owned a boat on the water, I figured it couldn’t get anymore crowded for Saturday, so off we headed to the river….at 4am…..again!  But I was wrong there were more boats than ever!  Oh well, it was a sight to see, even if fishing proved to be poor (which it didn’t).

DAD HELPS SON AYDEN HEFT HIS SATURDAY SPRINGER. (ANDY SCHNEIDER)

On our 1st pass Missy hooks up and hopes were high. On our way to the top of the run, I attempted to count boats….I quickly lost count just after 100, but I estimated right around a thousand boats in the lower run we were making (Caterpillar Island to Frenchman’s Bar).  On our second pass Mike Fung and Shawn Seals hook up with nice Springers and on our 3rd and last run of the day, my Son Ayden and I found our fish.  5 fish with 5 bites, all before noon, catching can’t get too much better; even in such crowded conditions.  Green Label Herring, Plug Cut and spinning 20-inches off the bottom did the trick for all 5 fish.

Now off to actually start my fishing vacation….

THE FLEET OFF VANCOUVER. (ANDY SCHNEIDER)

Leave a Reply

